In continuing with the peace movement…

In my classroom I do a Quote of the Day; where I write a quote and my students write what the quote means to them. Over the last twelve weeks of school I have included several peace quotes. These are four and their responses– enjoy!

Peace Talk

From Room 8

Our interpretations in our 4th grade classroom of some famous peace quotes:

Nothing will bring you peace but yourself.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

* I think it means that peace is in my body.

* It means your self can bring you peace.

* I think it’s about bringing yourself peace. Like when you go home and sit in the tub- that you bring peace to yourself.

* You can’t let anyone give you peace. You give yourself peace.

You cannot shake hands with a clenched fist.

~ Gandhi

* You cannot shake hands if they are balled up because you can’t shake with a fist.

* You cannot shake hands if you are about to fight.

* You cannot shake hands with a fist. I feel like that too because you can’t shake a fist. If you try to shake a fist you can’t do it.

You can’t separate peace from freedom because no one can be at peace unless he has freedom.

~ Malcolm X

* If you are not nice and the next day you want to be nice you will not get peace.

* I think it means that you can’t have freedom without peace.

* I think it means that you have to have freedom before you can have peace.

* If you are mean, you can’t get freedom or peace.

* You can’t separate freedom from peace, first you have to have freedom before you have peace.

* You can’t break peace from freedom.

* A man must have been a good man that people must have never had freedom.


All we are saying is give peace a chance.

~John Lennon

* Peace is good for life it would be very good but give it a try. Give peace a try.

* Don’t do anything to change the peace.

* Have peace and take a chance. That’s why you need peace.

* Give peace a chance. You might like it.

* It means that you can give peace a chance to try it.

 

nablo07_seal.gif

noladawnnovglobe.jpg