I was tagged by Steven at Get Your Blog On! for this fun food meme…

These are the rules:

1. Link to the name of the person who tagged you.
2. Include the state and country you’re in.
3. List your top 5 favorite places to eat at your location (locally).
4. Tag 5 other people (preferably from other countries/states) and let them know they’ve been tagged.

Being from the NOLA, the city voted the best place to live for eating out, it’s kind of sad that I have never been to some of the “Great” restaurants of the city… Antoine’s, Arnaud’s, Gallatoire’s, or Commander’s Palace.  I know, I know, I should, but just haven’t.  With three kids it’s hard to go ANYWHERE!!  Anyway, here are my five favorite places to eat…

  1. Sun Ray Grill : This is a local chain with four locations around the NOLA area.  My favorite place to stop for a quick bite to go, or to order out.  My absolute faves on the menu are the Bangkok Chicken Roll and their Thai BBQ Chicken is to die for.
  2. Kim Son: Advertised as Chinese-Vietnamese, they have those daily lunch specials that you can get at most Chinese restaurants.  But, if I wanted those average specials I could go anywhere.  The reason Kim Son is on my cell phone speed dial is the Singapore Noodles….  yummy!  Here’s a local critic‘s take on the hole in the wall.
  3. Emeril’s Delmonico:  Wow!  We went to Delmonico for one of our anniversaries and it was amazing.  Of course, it helped that my dear hubby worked with the maitre’d, but we got one of the best tables in the restaurant and they comped us a fantastic appetizer of oysters.  I had the Redfish Amendine for dinner while hubby had the Duck Breast.  What a fantastic dinner that was!
  4. Rocky’s Pizza Joint: Talk about some good pizza!  Rocky’s makes some of the best pizza in town with a great ambience.  They even have kid’s day where kids can make their own pizza.  The muffaletta pizza is to die for.  Here’s The Unknown Critic’s review.
  5. And of course, being a mom and a junk food junkie I have to include one of my favorite local fast food places, Raising Cane’s: They are locally grown in Baton Rouge and make nothing but chicken strips.  But, the chicken strips aren’t what keep you coming back.  It’s the Texas Toast, the homemade Lemonade, and that fantastic Cane’s Sauce.  I just wish I knew what was in that sauce!

I tag: Kailani in Hawaii, Michelle in London, Lisa in Orlando, Lisa in South Dakota, and although it’s supposed to be someone from a different place…  Sarah in New Orleans; because she’s worked in the fine dining field and I want some recommendations of places to eat at home 🙂