Looking for Alaska, a Printz Award winner for YA Literature was breathtaking. In one sitting I read the book, but now I wished I hadn’t because I wish I had savored the characters a bit more. The main character Miles Halter, aka Pudge is a modern day Holden Caulfield living in an Alabama boarding school. Alaska is everything he wishes for in his life. Read it- slowly- you’ll be glad you did. Green is also the author of An Abundance of Katherines, this year’s Printz Honor Award book.

I had this one on my library shelf in my math classroom because reading is “everywhere” because it was highly recommended by my favorite lit professor.  I passed it to a student, who gave it back to me a day later, deeming it “great.”  How’s that for a recommendation?  I knew that as soon as I had a moment I would have to read it and I’m so glad I did.

From the flap:

before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (Francois Rabalais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

after. Nothing is ever the same.

