Now that my reading time will be decreased tenfold… (see my TT :P) I’d like to reflect on the great reads I did get to enjoy this summer.  Seeing as how I will be teaching 8th grade this year after never having taught over the 5th grade before, I spent a great deal of time reading Adolescent and Young Adult Lit.  I must say, it was quite enjoyable.  It’s certainly not the same as when I was a kid.  Of course, I didn’t really read that stuff, but nevertheless. 

So, from my reading journal this summer:

  • Walter Dean Myers Somewhere in the Darkness, very moving- I definitely plan to use this with my kids
  • Alex Flinn Breathing Underwater, disturbing- yet very real, I identified with it very much
  • Avi True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, I didn’t think I’d enjoy a book about a 13 yr-old girl on a ship, but I did 🙂
  • Lois Lowry Number the Stars, Wow!
  • Lois Lowry Gossamer, her newest, all about the dreamakers, great read
  • Elie Wiesel Night, I read it at Oprah’s request and boy I’m glad I did… I think I may be able to tie it in to Number the Stars and use it with my kids
  • “The Doctors”- Drs. Sampson Davis, George Jenkins, and Rameck Hunt We Beat the Street: How a Friendship Pact Lead to Success, Amazing!  I plan to use this when we are on autobiographies

School starts in 12 days… do you think I can fit in Kite Runner?  That’s the one that’s been sitting on my nightstand all summer waiting for me. 😀

